Great Love 

What can I write about my great love?  I want to pen something of such sweeping wonder that will bring him to life on the page for you. 

 In truth though I think the best way to do that is just to tell you about him and about us.

“We were friends for a long time, and then we weren’t, and then we fell in love”, that line’s from When Harry Met Sally, but it about sums us up, except we were friends and then we were in love, and then rather crushingly we weren’t friends or together or any part of each other’s lives…and then one day we saw each other, and couldn’t stop seeing each other, ever again, because we have always been in love.  

We were apart for three years and for me those years were like wandering down a poorly lit road in the middle of nowhere.  I experienced both freedom and happiness along my solo journey.  But mostly I had just wandered further and further from myself.

A year ago we reconnected, I thought it would take longer but in honesty it took a day.  It took the first hug, the walking around talking, the second hug, the stolen kisses, it took seeing each other again.  Our love is a force of science really.  We are pulled together, the one orbiting the other in our own personal solar system.  Without the other all the light goes out, we fall away from our rightful paths, spinning into nothingness. 

 My Great Love is a man of humour and light despite his darkness. He is beautiful and funny and stubborn to a fault and can be relied upon to play the Devil’s advocate, a quality that never ceases to enrage me.  He will not put up with my bullshit, a quality which forces me to evolve myself.   He sees the beauty in most everything and hears the world in a way that I cannot fully comprehend.  

We had a thunderstorm recently which robbed us of Internet, so we held ‘analogue day’ and listened to records and played 90s video games consoles and talked.  I love to talk to him more than anything on earth.  He shares hilarious videos with me on Facebook though really he hates Facebook.  He loves football but hates those social ‘football men’.  He hates pubs but he loves puns.  I love both these things.   

Is there day to day and year to year work required in our relationship? Of course there is.  But my little planet is back on its axis, whooshing along on its orbital byway. My Great Love is mine and I am his. So it has always been, even when it wasn’t.

Standard

Leave a Reply

